Back to HP ENVY Pro 6452 Wireless All-in-One Color Inkjet Printer - Instant Ink Ready

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5stars
(12 reviews)

Most helpful positive review

5.00 out of 5 stars review
Verified Purchaser
07/30/2020
Everything you need in a printer
This printer has everything you will need for your home use. I found it very simple to set up with my computer, it only took me about 10 minutes. So far, the printing has been good. Documents print very clear and pictures print nicely, but not perfect. The documents I have scanned have come out very clear and easy to read. This printer really does have everything you will need, highly recommend!
MissMeg

Most helpful negative review

2.00 out of 5 stars review
Verified Purchaser
04/25/2021
Does NOT print to Legal Paper!
Specifications say "up to 8.5×14," but there is nowhere to put the paper. The tray only accommodates up to Letter and A4. A technician (and eventually an "escalation technician") had me on the phone for 2¼ hours trying to tweak the driver and settings to get it to accept legal paper as the output size, but the bottom line is there is nowhere to put legal paper. A decent entry-level inkjet printer, but we can't believe the specs, I wasted hours trying to print a document to legal paper, and HP tech support is difficult to reach.
Thomas
14 reviews
Filter by:
Sort by:
  • 5.00 out of 5 stars review
    Verified Purchaser
    05/12/2021
    HP Great!!!!!
    I have had the HP ENVY Pro 6455 for about 3 weeks now and I am very impressed. Set up was simple and it is extremely quiet. So far I am very impressed with my purchase.
    Chas3141
  • 2.00 out of 5 stars review
    Verified Purchaser
    04/25/2021
    Does NOT print to Legal Paper!
    Specifications say "up to 8.5×14," but there is nowhere to put the paper. The tray only accommodates up to Letter and A4. A technician (and eventually an "escalation technician") had me on the phone for 2¼ hours trying to tweak the driver and settings to get it to accept legal paper as the output size, but the bottom line is there is nowhere to put legal paper. A decent entry-level inkjet printer, but we can't believe the specs, I wasted hours trying to print a document to legal paper, and HP tech support is difficult to reach.
    Thomas
  • 5.00 out of 5 stars review
    Verified Purchaser
    01/26/2021
    Handy, compact little printer
    This is a nice compact little printer, does all I need. I like the paper holder which keeps all the blank sheets inside a drawer instead of hanging out like my old HP4200. That paper always got messed up. The wireless works well and I can also print through the USB cable since my Internet at home is unreliable.
    Unknown
  • 5.00 out of 5 stars review
    Verified Purchaser
    12/29/2020
    Incredible Printer
    I love this new HP printer. It satisfies all my productivity needs - it can copy, scan, print, and fax! It is incredibly convenient and easy to use. It looks neat and elegant to me and at the same time provides quality printing job. The HP Smart app on the mobile phone is very easy to use and sync with this printer. I have no issues at all with using this. Simply the best HP product I've ever purchased. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
    Vicky6688
  • 5.00 out of 5 stars review
    Verified Purchaser
    08/11/2020
    Awesome all in one.
    This small all in one printer is pretty amazing. I have had lots of printers over the years but this one is really cool. First off the set up is simple. You literally plug it in and download the app. Once you find the printer in your WiFi and on the app you connect. Then it's ready to go. The print quality is top notch. I printed a email to test, the text was crisp and clear. Pictures print out great too. I love that it has an app because if you have an issue it's super easy to troubleshoot. I will mention that the buttons that control printer are a little different than other printers I have had. Luckily the app will help with all of that. Once you figure it out it's very straightforward. The scanner worked great for uploading a bunch of documents onto my PC. I have also printed a few things directly off my iPhone and they came out great. I think this is a good all in one printer for the majority of consumers. I would recommend.
    Honeymoor
  • 5.00 out of 5 stars review
    Verified Purchaser
    08/02/2020
    Easy set up - great quality print
    This printer was very easy to set up. It actually took almost as long to unpack as it did to get connected to my network and start printing! I will say there is a lot of blue tape to take off before you get going, but at least it's all easy to spot and it comes off without leaving any residue. My one issue with the set up process is you need a smart phone to connect to the network. There are still people who don't have them. That being said, the set up process was simple and worked the first time I tried it. Installing the ink cartridges was just open the package and click them in. Print quality on the first test page from Windows looked excellent. Scanning was simple with one-touch operation (either black or color). Love the fact that it has a separate black cartridge so everything isn't printed from the color. My one concern (with all inkjets not just this one) is clogged nozzles if I don't print for a while. We'll see how that goes. All in all, a great printer that has a lot of functions, but does't take up too much space on the desk.
    Bigness
  • 5.00 out of 5 stars review
    Verified Purchaser
    08/02/2020
    Prints well, sleek minimal design
    So far no problems with printing. Setup was a little confusing, and I am a techy person. There are no labeled buttons on the machine - only icons that light up and a color-changing glow in the paper tray which you have to interpret. The main thing I noticed was how "paperless" everything is now... it did not seem to come with a manual, or driver cds etc. (Manual can be found online). A card inside the box instructs you to download an app (HP Smart) on your phone to complete setup. I guess it's been awhile since I've had a new printer. It also somehow auto-installed an "app"/program on my desktop computer as well. You can print using USB or wirelessly on wi-fi. I accidentally hooked up the printer both ways which showed 2 HP printers on my printer list. You can use the app for many functions - to take a picture of something you want to scan & print out for example, which is neat.... BUT you can also just use the actual scanner on the machine. You can also use the app to access the photos on your phone to print them out, although I don't plan to use the printer for that purpose. I tested the scanner with a photo saved as a JPG file using the actual scanner the quality was fine. You can select different resolutions. I printed a few b/w documents and one color "test" page.. the colors were vibrant. Quality is great. It had no trouble with label paper that I use to print shipping labels. The paper tray does not appear to hold much paper so this might be a pain if you are printing a lot. Also I keep my printer on a desk/table and the paper tray is difficult to open as there is not room under the tray to fit my fingers. I have to sort of pull out the tray from the sides. The printer is on the noisy side when printing. It plays little chimes when it does things and lights up with colors. I don't know how necessary all of the laser lights are but I guess it makes it cool to look at. As far as what the different glowing colors mean on the machine, well, you have to download the manual which literally dedicates like 5 pages to tell you how to interpret the colors!! (yellow means there is a problem for example.. sigh). It actually gives examples like "the light bar pulses blue from the center, ends with light bar glowing green, repeating" ... as if anyone is going to remember what these light patterns mean! There is no touch screen or any information on the printer itself so I guess that is the way they do it. The machine is very minimal in design and the "buttons" that light up don't have words on them, which confused me. There were 2 identical looking icons for copying/scanning, then I realized the one with changing colors copies color, and the other one was b/w copy. You push the buttons a few times to make multiple copies. The ink cartridges include 1 black and one multicolor (CMY). I wish it had individual colors as rarely do all the colors drain at an even rate. Lastly, there is some feature about "HP INSTANT INK" which you can sign up for and the printer orders & ships your replacement ink cartridges for you when it senses them running low. They tempt you with a 2-months free deal to sign up. I didn't opt into that because I am skeptical of the idea of my printer auto-ordering anything for me. Overall, the printer prints and hasn't jammed yet so it gets 5 stars.
    EV782
  • 3.00 out of 5 stars review
    Verified Purchaser
    08/01/2020
    Technical Issues with Setup
    Printer is attractive, lightweight, and doesn't require a lot of space. It arrived well packaged and included a black and color ink cartridge and a quick setup guide. The cartridges are easy to load. Setting up the printer physically is simple but the wireless setup was a different issue.  Although the blue wireless indicator light was lighted, the HP Smart App for my android phone would not completely load. I was never able to print from the phone, and received an error message the printer was not on the network.  I reinstalled the app with the same result. Since most of my printing will be from my personal computer this was not an issue for me but defeats the feature of mobile printing. I tried setting up the printer from my computer but again received the same error message and unable to successfully print.  My computer is five years old so my software may not be up to date although I have set up other wireless products via my computer recently. I noticed that there was a port on the back of the printer next to the power button to connect a USB cable which I used to connect to my PC.  I downloaded the software I needed from the HP site to manually connect the printer to my PC and three hours after initially beginning the setup process, I successfully printed, scanned, and copied documents and emails from the printer which is all I need.  Although this printer offers many features, a user guide or detailed instructions is not included. Bottom line: this printer fits my needs and print quality is good but it was difficult to set up and I am unable to utilize many of its features. 
    BeccaD
  • 5.00 out of 5 stars review
    Verified Purchaser
    07/31/2020
    HP Envy Pro 6452
    I received the printer yesterday. I just installed it this morning. It is a wireless printer. One thing I like about it is that it will print envelopes, my old printer wouldn't do that. It is very attractive and the white color perfectly matches the HP computer my husband bought me for my birthday last year. I have been told that HP makes very good printers and I know this is true because I have had several and they were all good printers. The one thing I didn't like is the fact that HP did not provide much information as to the features of the machine, so I will have to discover them for myself. This printer will print, scan, copy and send mobile faxes. It does automatic two-sided printing and does borderless printing. It is ideal for printing school work, home office documents and photos. It will never run out of ink because it comes with HP Instant Ink. this is a subscription service that will send shipments of ink before the machine runs out. It is very economic and it is cheaper than what you would pay if you purchased the ink cartridges at the store, and the cartridges are larger.
    Plainjane
  • 4.00 out of 5 stars review
    Verified Purchaser
    07/30/2020
    Great Printer, but a little slow
    This 3 in one printer (print, copy, scan)also has dual-band wireless, Bluetooth, and USB connection. It prints 10ppm and 7 ppm color, supports duplex printing (double-sided), has an automatic document feeder, holds around 35 sheets, a flatbed scanner, the input tray holds up to 100 sheets, has edge lighting to show what status you have it in and it can be set up using HP smart app, it has a quiet printing mode, and uses a tri-color and black ink cartridge. Printing is clear. It is a nice looking printer, but printing is slow compared to some printers.
    AliG
  • 5.00 out of 5 stars review
    Verified Purchaser
    07/30/2020
    Everything you need in a printer
    This printer has everything you will need for your home use. I found it very simple to set up with my computer, it only took me about 10 minutes. So far, the printing has been good. Documents print very clear and pictures print nicely, but not perfect. The documents I have scanned have come out very clear and easy to read. This printer really does have everything you will need, highly recommend!
    MissMeg
  • 5.00 out of 5 stars review
    Verified Purchaser
    07/29/2020
    Very Nice Printer
    I am really happy with this printer. I have had a wireless HP printer for years And it's still going strong however I have never been able to keep the WiFi working for remote printing. As soon as I received this printer I was able to set it up in 20 minutes including downloading the app to my phone. I have used this printer several times in the last two days and have had no problems at all printing remotely. I really love this printer because of how easy it was to set up, it gives me nice quality color prints, the ease of use and it looks really nice also (I love the blue glowing light it puts off in the room). I would highly recommend this printer!
    LisaS